Speakers Bureau

Listed below are UW-Washington County faculty and staff who are available to speak to high school classes or to groups, such as community organizations, service clubs, church groups, etc. As an expression of their professional commitment to the community, they want to share their expertise and knowledge.

Most speakers do not require a fee for local presentations, however honoraria and travel expenses may be requested by the individual. Donations may be made to the Washington County Campus Foundation for scholarships.

Speaking dates and times are limited by the individual's schedule. Contact should be made directly with the faculty or staff member at the campus address, or phone number listed next to their name. If there is any problem reaching the speaker, please email: student-info@uwc.edu
 

Anthropology

Dr. Christopher Hays

262-335-5225  Email: christopher.hays@uwc.edu
Professor, Sociology/ Anthropology

Areas of Expertise:

  • Burial Mounds in the Eastern U.S.
  • Human Evolution;   Medical Anthropology
  • Prehistoric Religious Rituals
  • Selected Topics of Wisconsin Archeology

Art

Joshua Lesniak

262-335-5240  Email: joshua.lesniak@uwc.edu
Associate Professor, Art

Areas of Expertise:

  • Ceramics;  Modern Architecture and Design
  • Modern Art, Sculpture

Biological Sciences

Dr. Toye Ekunsanmi

262-335-5250 x254 Email: toye.ekunsanmi@uwc.edu
Professor, Biological Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • Food and Water Borne Diseases
  • Microorganisms/Human Parasites
  • Use of Herbal Remedies

Dr. Wayne Schaefer

262-335-5250 x252  Email: wayne.schaefer@uwc.edu
Professor, Biological Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • Blue Walleye of Canada
  • Canadian Wilderness Ecology

Business

Carl Gahala

262-335-5250 x316  Email: carl.gahala@uwc.edu
Assistant Professor, Business/Economics

Areas of Expertise:

  • Accounting
  • Auditing
  • Personal Finance

Chemistry

Dr. Mohamed Ayoub

262-335-5250 x234  Email: mohamed.ayoub@uwc.edu
Professor, Chemistry

Areas of Expertise:

  • Chemistry in Daily Life
  • Chemistry & Physics of Color
  • Theoretical /Computational Chemistry in the Classroom and Research
  • Imaging Individual DNA Molecules and Applications for Biotechnology
  • Green Chemistry

Communications & Theatre Arts

Rick Ponzio

262-909-1300 Email: rick.ponzio@uwc.edu
Senior Lecturer of Communication and Theatre Arts

Areas of Expertise:

  • Public Speaking
  • Theatre: New Play Development, Theatre Production,Performance
  • Writing Folk Literature
  • Folk Tales from around the World (Performance for K-5 and families)

Chris Yogerst, Ph.D.

262-335-5250 x 314 Email: christopher.yogerst@uwc.edu
Assistant Professor, Communications

Areas of Expertise:

  • Digital Media
  • Film History
  • Mass Communication
  • Media Influence
  • Popular Culture

Computer Science

Mechtild Johnson

262-306-4341  Email: mech.johnson@uwc.edu
Emeritus Professor, Computer Science

Area of Expertise:

History of Computers

 

Economics

Dr. Larry Gomes

262-335-5256  Email: larry.gomes@uwc.edu
Professor, Business/Economics

Areas of Expertise:

  • Corporate Finance
  • Economics of Banking; Money & Banking
  • Industrial Organizations

English

Dr. Jennifer Heinert

262-335-5250 x316  Email: jennifer.heinert@uwc.edu
Associate Professor, English

Areas of Expertise:

  • American Literature
  • Ethnic Studies
  • Toni Morrison
  • Narrative Theory & Genres
  • Rhetoric and Composition

Dr. William Malcuit

262-335-5250 x317  Email: william.malcuit@uwc.edu
Assistant Professor, English

Areas of Expertise:

  • African American Literature 
  • American Literature and Culture
  • Critical Theory;  Literary Modernism, Poetry

Dr. Patricia Roby

262-306-4341  Email: patricia.roby@uwc.edu
Emeritus Professor, English

Areas of Expertise:

  • Contemporary Literature    
  • Film & Literature: American and Global
  • Gang Language and Identification
  • Indian Myths and Storytelling
  • International literature, Mystery Writers
  • Native American Literature and Culture
  • Women's Literature

Dr. Anne Widmayer

262-335-5250 x318  Email: anne.widmayer@uwc.edu
Professor, English

Areas of Expertise:

  • British Culture
  • Drama
  • Feminism
  • Modern Mystery Writers
  • Research in special collections
  • Women’s Studies

History

John Degnitz

262-335-5231  Email: john.degnitz@uwc.edu
Associate Lecturer, History

Areas of Expertise:

  • History of Western Civilization
  • U.S. and World History 

Dr. Michael Thorn

262-306-4341  Email: michael.thorn@uwc.edu
Emeritus Professor, History

Areas of Expertise:

  • Art and Architecture of England
  • Collecting Fine Antique Engravings
  • Modern Ireland, Conflict in Northern Ireland
  • Nazi Germany and the Holocaust

Library Science

Jennifer Chamberlain

262-335-5250, ext. 337  jennifer.chamberlain@uwc.edu
Executive Director of UW Colleges Libraries

Area of Expertise:

Information Access and Research Skills

Music

Dr. Peter Gibeau

262-335-5216  Email: peter.gibeau@uwc.edu
Professor, Music

Areas of Expertise:

Classical Music and German Translation

Philosophy

Dr. Mark Peterson

262-335-5224  Email: mark.peterson@uwc.edu
Professor, Philosophy

Areas of Expertise:

  • History & Philosophy of Science/Technology
  • Existentialism
  • Environmental Ethics, Eco-Feminism, and Radical Environmentalism
  • Philosophy and the Martial Arts
  • Mythology and Joseph Campbell
  • Tai Chi 

Dr. Tait Szabo

262-335-5237  Email: tait.szabo@uwc.edu
Associate Professor, Philosophy

Areas of Expertise:

  • Abortion
  • Animal Ethics
  • Blackmail
  • Human Transplant Organ Sales
  • Sexual Ethics, esp. Prostitution
  • Sports Ethics, esp. Performance Enhancing Technologies

Physics & Astronomy

Dr. Miraj Uddin

262-335-5283  Email: miraj.uddin@uwc.edu
Lecturer, CSEPA Department

Areas of Expertise:

  • Modern Physics
  • Scattering Phenomenon and Diffraction physics
  • Interaction of radiation with matter, etc. 
  • Quantum Mechanics

Dr. Swapnil Tripathi

262-335-5250 x237  Email: swapnil.tripathi@uwc.edu
Associate Professor, Physics and Astronomy

Areas of Expertise:

  • Astronomy
  • Black holes/neutron stars
  • General Physics
  • Theory of Relativity
  • Interreligious Dialogue