Speakers Bureau

Listed below are UW-Washington County faculty and staff who are available to speak to high school classes or to groups, such as community organizations, service clubs, church groups, etc. As an expression of their professional commitment to the community, they want to share their expertise and knowledge.

Most speakers do not require a fee for local presentations, however honoraria and travel expenses may be requested by the individual. Donations may be made to the Washington County Campus Foundation for scholarships.

Speaking dates and times are limited by the individual's schedule. Contact should be made directly with the faculty or staff member at the campus address, or phone number listed next to their name. If there is any problem reaching the speaker, please email: wsh-info@uwc.edu.
 

Anthropology

Dr. Christopher Hays

262-335-5225 
Email: christopher.hays@uwc.edu
Professor of Anthropology

Areas of Expertise:

  • Archaeology-Southeastern United States, Late Archaic/Early Woodland period
  • Medical Anthropology

Art

Joshua Lesniak

262-335-5240  
Email: joshua.lesniak@uwc.edu
Associate Professor, Art

Areas of Expertise:

  • Ceramics;  Modern Architecture and Design
  • Modern Art, Sculpture

Biological Sciences

Dr. Toye Ekunsanmi

262-808-4124
Email: toye.ekunsanmi@uwc.edu
Professor, Biological Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • Food and Water Borne Diseases
  • Microorganisms/Human Parasites
  • Use of Herbal Remedies

Dr. Wayne Schaefer

262-808-4115
Email: wayne.schaefer@uwc.edu
Professor Emeritus, Biological Sciences

Areas of Expertise:

  • Blue Walleye of Canada
  • Canadian Wilderness Ecology

Business

Carl Gahala

262-808-4140
Email: carl.gahala@uwc.edu
Assistant Professor, Business/Economics

Areas of Expertise:

  • Accounting
  • Auditing
  • Personal Finance

Chemistry

Dr. Mohamed Ayoub

262-808-4118
Email: mohamed.ayoub@uwc.edu
Professor, Chemistry

Degrees:

Ph.D., Physical Chemistry, Wayne State University
M.S., Physical Organic Chemistry, Western Michigan University
B.S., Chemistry, University of Alexandria

Areas of Expertise:

  • Chemistry & Physics of Color
  • Theoretical /Computational Chemistry in the Classroom and Research
  • Imaging Individual DNA Molecules and Applications for Biotechnology

Communications & Theatre Arts

Chris Yogerst, Ph.D.

262-808-4138 or 262-483-1986
Email: christopher.yogerst@uwc.edu or chrisyogerst@hotmail.com 
Assistant Professor, Communications
Ph.D., Regent University, VA

Areas of Expertise:

  • American Popular Culture
  • Communication History and Theory
  • Film History
  • Media Studies

Economics

Dr. Larry Gomes

Email: larry.gomes@uwc.edu
Professor Emeritus, Business/Economics

Areas of Expertise:

  • Corporate Finance
  • Economics of Banking; Money & Banking
  • Industrial Organizations

English

Dr. Jennifer Heinert

Email: jennifer.heinert@uwc.edu
Associate Professor, English

Areas of Expertise:

  • American Literature
  • Ethnic Studies
  • Toni Morrison
  • Narrative Theory & Genres
  • Rhetoric and Composition

Dr. William Malcuit

262-808-4143 
Email: william.malcuit@uwc.edu
Assistant Professor, English

Areas of Expertise:

  • African American Literature 
  • American Literature and Culture
  • Critical Theory
  • Literary Modernism
  • Poetry

Dr. Patricia Roby

Email: patricia.roby@uwc.edu
Emeritus Professor, English

Areas of Expertise:

  • Contemporary Literature    
  • Film & Literature: American and Global
  • Gang Language and Identification
  • Indian Myths and Storytelling
  • International literature, Mystery Writers
  • Native American Literature and Culture
  • Women's Literature

Dr. Anne Widmayer

262-808-4142
Email: anne.widmayer@uwc.edu
Professor, English

Degrees:

B.A. with Honors, Brown University
Ph.D., University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Areas of Expertise:

  • British Culture
  • Drama
  • Early Novels in English
  • Feminism
  • Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies
  • Modern Mystery Writers
  • Research in Special Collections
  • Shakespeare
  • Taboo Gendered Emotions

History

Dr. Michael Thorn

Email: michael.thorn@uwc.edu
Professor Emeritus, History

Areas of Expertise:

  • Art and Architecture of England
  • Collecting Fine Antique Engravings
  • Modern Ireland, Conflict in Northern Ireland
  • Nazi Germany and the Holocaust

Library Science

Jennifer Chamberlain

262-335-5250, ext. 337
Email: jennifer.chamberlain@uwc.edu
Executive Director of UW Colleges Libraries

Area of Expertise:

  • Information Access and Research Skills

Music

Dr. Peter Gibeau

262-335-5216  
Email: peter.gibeau@uwc.edu
Professor, Music

Areas of Expertise:

  • Classical Music and German Translation

Philosophy

Dr. Mark Peterson

262-335-5224  
Email: mark.peterson@uwc.edu
Professor, Philosophy

Areas of Expertise:

  • Environmental Philosophy, Eco-Feminism, and Radical Environmentalism
  • History & Philosophy of Science/Technology
  • Existentialism
  • Philosophy of Mythology
  • Philosophy and the Martial Arts
  • Taijiquan

Dr. Tait Szabo

262-335-5228 
Email: tait.szabo@uwc.edu
Associate Professor, Philosophy

Areas of Expertise:

  • Applied Ethics
    • Bioethics
    • Environmental Ethics
    • Ethics and Markets
    • Sexual Ethics
    • Sports Ethics
  • Philosophy of Religion
  • Social/Political Philosophy

Physics & Astronomy

Dr. Swapnil Tripathi

262-808-4121 
Email: swapnil.tripathi@uwc.edu
Associate Professor, Physics and Astronomy

Areas of Expertise:

  • Astronomy
  • Black holes/neutron stars
  • General Physics
  • Theory of Relativity
  • Interreligious Dialogue