The University of Wisconsin-Washington County will recognize the accomplishments of 117 students at the annual commencement ceremony on Friday evening, May 23.  Students who have completed or will be completing their degree requirements this spring and summer and last year will be recognized at the ceremony. Sixteen students will receive a four-year bachelor degree and 101 students will receive their two-year associate degrees for the 2007-2008 academic year.

The collaborative bachelor degree program allows students to complete a 4-year degree from UW-Milwaukee and UW-Oshkosh, while attending classes in West Bend. Students earning a bachelor degree from UW-Milwaukee include:

Germantown: Andrea Kempinski, Nursing; Deanna Martin, Nursing

Hartford: Nisha Kotecha, Nursing; Andrew Schmitt, Organizational Administration

Horicon: Jennifer Rettmann, Nursing

Jackson: Katie Frank, Nursing

Sheboygan: Jennifer Doty, Nursing

Waubeka: Catherine Schommer, Nursing

West Bend: Kathryn Heinecke, Nursing; Lisa Kaczmarek, Nursing; Paul Peterson, Communications; Jill Ritger, Organizational  Administration & Communications; Chelsea Zornow, Nursing

Students earning a bachelor degree from UW-Oshkosh in Liberal Studies with Leadership Emphasis include:

Campbellsport: Janice Krueger

Kewaskum: Susan Meyer

West Bend: Diane George

To earn an Associate degree, students must earn at least 60 college credits in five different areas and maintain a 2.0 grade point average (on a scale of 4.0). Dean David Nixon will present Associate degrees to the following students for the 2007/ 2008 school year:                               

Allenton: Alexander Bode, Amy Limbach, Jerome Neary III

Campbellsport: Jamie Sabish, William Sulicz

Cedar Grove: Stephanie Heinecke

Cedarburg: Kevin Fechter, Ryan Hamann

Colgate: Kyle Wegener

Germantown: Bethany Doke, James Hilgendorf, Brenna Richards, Matthew Schulteis

Grafton: Christy Butt, Tania Mader, Nicholas Pokey

Hartford: Morgan Balicki, Sarah Becker, David Doll, Amber Fausett, Aaron Lofy, Anthony Monfre, Gazmend Rexha, Ashley Rueckl, Matthew Sweeney,           Daniel Wolf

Horicon: Heather Mayack

Hubertus: Linda Ansay, Joshua Duchac, Michelle Nahmens, Michele Prada, Jodi      Schneeweis, Kelly Skowron

Iron Ridge: Justine Field, Tierney Ryan, Lisa Swan

Jackson: Kevin Berben, Jared Bublitz, Brent Smith, Dakota Witte

Juneau: Jacob Gaulthier

Kewaskum: Brian Chilson, Margaret Dickmann, Danielle Dreher, Joshua Jungwirth, Jessica Kerlin, William Kumrow, Lauren Parsons, Ashley Welch

Mayville: Ashley Lauscher, Kristin Schaefer

Menomonee Falls: Jennifer Ahrens, Kristin Zelinsky

Richfield: Terry Brown, Jr., Nicole Selsing, Stephan Wiciak

Saukville: Hasan AbuLughod, Louane Gabin, Nicholas Kelley, Jerrick Krueger

Slinger: Elizabeth Jastrab, Ashley Seifert

Theresa: Corey Reklau

West Bend: Angela Balzar, Bradley Benike, Meagan Bennett,  Melissa Berg, Kelly Berndt, Jennifer Bischoff, Sarah Borgstrom, Shelly Breunig, Ryan Chesak, Michelle, Comeau, Dominique Corlette, Matthew Detloff, Jessica Doll, Tami Dorzok, Barry Fies, April Fischer, Jacquelyn Gentz, Shannon Grager, Carol Grothus, Erik Hakes, Nathan Hayes, Emily Kennedy, Kent Kilbourn, Shawn Kosek, Anthony Krocka, Brenda Kunkel, Sally MacDonald, Michelle Madrinich, Dustin Mihm, Jena Nienow, Jared Perrault, Kyle Stoffel, Amanda Straub, Andrew Strobel, Shawn Trice, Amy Unertl, Michelle Vickman, Lauren Walls

The keynote speaker will be Dennis Degenhardt, President and CEO of Glacier Hills Credit Union.  This summer, Dennis will celebrate his thirtieth anniversary of involvement with the credit union movement, having held senior management positions in three other credit unions as well as major corporations serving the industry.  With a degree in Accounting from UW-M, Dennis believes the foundation of that education has helped him throughout his career.  He helps UW-Washington County by serving on the Washington County Campus Foundation Board.  Dennis and his wife, Linda live in West Bend.  The student speaker is Erik Hakes of West Bend, President of Phi Theta Kappa.    

Scholarships totaling over $70,000 as well as departmental awards will also be awarded at the ceremony, which begins with a bagpiper led processional at 7pm in the gymnasium. The Washington County Youth Orchestra will perform prior to the ceremony, beginning at 6:30pm. No tickets are needed to attend. For more information, contact the Student Services office at 262-335-5201. UW-Washington County has a current enrollment of over 1,000 students and is located at 400 University Drive in West Bend.


Sue Bausch