UW-WC Announces Winners of Photography Competition

“Give us Your Best Shot” Contest received 78 entries

Judging has been completed for UW-Washington County’s first photography competition and the top three winners include:

  1. Kyle Schroeder, West Bend (star trails) - $100 prize
  2. Elizabeth Dahlen, West Bend (pathway at Jansen Park) - $75 prize
  3. Kate Schaffer, West Bend (reflection of Seattle waterfront) - $50 prize

In addition to the cash prizes, the top three entries will remain on permanent display at UW-Washington County, each with a plaque giving credit to the photographer.

Also selected among the 78 entries were these twelve entries which will also be on display in the campus art gallery during the Winter Arts Festival on Saturday, January 28.

Winners include (in alphabetical order):

  • Katie Beine, Slinger  (Lake Tomahawk pier)
  • Rebecca Brown, West Bend (colors by the campfire)
  • Aaron Carlson, Menomonie (Black Earth Rettenmund Prairie state natural area)
  • Kate Evans, Campbellsport (collection of books)
  • Justin Graham, Kewaskum (sunset over Midwest)
  • Joe LaFave, Slinger (sand storm in Ramadi, Iraq)
  • Brandon Reichard, Kewaskum (gears of time)
  • Jamie Robbins, West Bend (starved dog)
  • Jasmine Wronski, West Bend (basket in the dust)
  • Terry Seil, West Bend (port in New York City)
  • Ashley Zander, Jackson (leaf in the rocks)
  • Danielle Zold, Colgate (light trails)

Area photographers were invited to enter UW-Washington County’s GIVE US YOUR BEST SHOT Photography Competition in September and the contest ended December 1. The contest was open to all Wisconsin residents who were amateur photographers and at least 16 years of age.  

Judging was completed by UW-WC Art Professor, Josh Lesniak; Wisconsin Museum of Art Assistant Director, Graeme Reid; and former Silverbrook Middle School art teacher, Vicki Ebben. Judges looked for striking digital images that had all the components of good photography - including composition, creativity and originality.

UW-Washington County intends to sponsor this contest annually and build a collection of photography that will add visual interest and beauty to the campus to be enjoyed by students and the community.



Sue Bausch