Special recognitions to be given at May 21 Commencement Ceremony

Several special awards will be presented at UW-Washington County’s Commencement ceremony on Thursday evening, May 21.  Recognitions for Outstanding Alumna Award will be presented by Dr. David Nixon, Dean. In addition, Departmental Awards will be awarded to eleven students by Dr. Anne Widmayer, Steering Chairperson.


Dr. Brenda Holland of Fond du Lacwill receive the Outstanding Alumna Award for 2009.
Dr. Holland attended UW-Washington County and received an Associate Degree in 1997.  She completed a Bachelor of Science degree in Cellular Physiology from the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater and received her Doctor of Chiropractic degree from the Palmer College of Chiropractic in Davenport, Iowa, in 2003.

In 2008, she became board certified in chiropractic pediatrics by earning her Diplomate in Clinical Chiropractic Pediatrics (DICCP), becoming one of only 35 in the state with this certification. Dr. Holland is a member of the Wisconsin Chiropractic Association as well as being actively involved in Kiwanis and the Germantown Chamber of Commerce, serving on several committees.

Growing up in West Bend, Brenda attended St. Mary’s in Barton and graduated from West Bend West in 1995.  She now makes her home in Fond du Lac and enjoys spending any free time reading or being with friends and family.  Dr. Holland’s office is located in Germantown.   

According to Dr.  Holland, “Attending UW-WC was one of the best decisions I’ve made. I enjoyed the small class sizes that allowed for the individual attention I received. My professors were exceptional and were truly concerned about my success as a student and, more importantly, as a person. The convenience of the campus being close to home allowed me to continue working and save money. UW-WC not only helped to shape the well-rounded person I am today, but continues to positively impact my life and the lives of the patients I see.” 


Departmental awards are given to one or more outstanding students in a particular discipline who have displayed keen insight, overall understanding and superior attitude. The nominations are received from each department’s faculty.  Departmental award recipients include:

  • Business – Elizabeth Uecker, Slinger
  • Chemistry – Adam Roehl, West Bend; and Mel Toeller, Saukville
  • Computer Science – Jerome Jordan, Grafton; and Stephen Czuczor, Grafton
  • Economics – Andrea Becker, Hartford
  • English – Elizabeth Stroik, Waldo
  • Philosophy – Andy Hirschmann, West Bend
  • Political Science – Andrew Bossler, West Bend
  • Sociology – Erin Roehl, West Bend
  • World Languages/Spanish – Beverly Guenther, Theresa


Sue Bausch