Scholarship Ceremony

Ceremony is Tuesday, May 20
By UW-Washington County

The University of Wisconsin-Washington County (UW-WC) will present over $77,000 in scholarships at the Scholarship Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, May 20, 2014. The spring ceremony will replace the fall convocation. A reception for scholarship presenters and recipients will be held in the gym prior to the ceremony, which begins at 7pm. Receiving scholarships for the 2014-15 school year are 21 new freshman and 35 returning UW-WC students. An additional $72,000 in scholarships will be awarded at the Commencement ceremony on Thursday, May 22 to sophomore students who are transferring to four-year campuses to complete their bachelor degrees.

UW-WC Dean, Dr. Paul Price will welcome scholarship presenters (which include representatives from area businesses, civic groups, foundations and memorial bequeaths), scholarship recipients as well as the faculty, families and friends in attendance. Deb Butschlick, Athletic Director and Student Activities Coordinator, and
whose family will be presenting the Joseph & Rose Butschlick scholarship, will give the keynote address.

Scholarships awards to new and returning students include:

 American Association of University Women (AAUW) – Returning Student - $1,000
Crystal Shaw, Hartford

Barbara’s Scholarship – Returning Student - $500
Rachel Raskiewicz, West Bend

Thomas Berenz – New Freshman – 2 awards of $500 each
Ilma Kelecija, Hartford; Claire Wienke, Neosho

 Broan Nu-Tone - New Freshman – 3 Awards of $1,500 each
Joseph Turchi, Hartford; Morgan Vanderschaegen, Hartford; Claire Wienke, Neosho

Mr. & Mrs. James R. Brown Scholarship – New Freshman - $750 & Returning Student - $1,000
Jared Pharris, Richfield; Frances Weiss, Menomonee Falls

Joseph & Rose Butschlick Memorial – New Freshman - $500
Emily Eutsey, Kewaskum

Kirk D. Currie Memorial – Returning Student - $100
Jennifer Magruder, Hartford

Farmington – Returning Student- $1,000
Rachel Raskiewicz, West Bend

Luis & Iris Garcia – Returning Student –4 awards of $5,000 each
Noah Perry, Menomonee Falls; Jaclyn Weiss, Menomonee Falls; Rachel Weiss, Menomonee Falls; Zachary Young, Fredonia

Hoberg Scholarship - Returning Student - $1,500
Jennifer Lemminger, West Bend

H.O.P.E. Scholarship – Returning Student and New Freshman –10 awards of $1,000 each
Mary Baumann, Saukville; Hadassah Bonow, Germantown; Ty Kaage, Cedarburg; Philip Krebs, Hartford; Tera McAllister, Jackson; Alyce Pallo, Kewaskum; Tyler Smith, West Bend; Emilee Spalding, Kewaskum; Melanie Strand, Port Washington; Aiden Wentworth, Hartford

Elmore & Alyce Kraemer – Returning Student - 3 awards of $750 each & New Freshman – 4 awards of $500 each
Zeki AbuLughod, Port Washington; Calvin Brice, Cedarburg; Jessica Gaarder, West Bend; Nathan Rusch, Richfield;
Abigail Smith, Germantown; Melissa Volkert, Winneconne; Wyatt Wergin, West Bend

Matthew J. Martin Memorial - Returning Student - $1,000
Katelyn Laatsch, Hartford

New Beginnings – Returning Student - $500
Mary Baumann, Saukville

 Madalyn Rodney Memorial – Returning Student - $500
Zachariah Prescott, West Bend

 Rolfs Educational Foundation - Returning Student – 2 awards of $2,000 each
Zachary Deming, Cedarburg; Caleb Horst, Slinger

Wallace & Marion Scheunemann - Returning Student - $2,000
April Stern, Kewaskum

Reuben Schmahl - New Freshman - $800
Gregory Fehring, West Bend

Wayland & Darlene Tessar – Returning Student - $1,000
Raeanne Koss, Kewaskum

The Thomas Family Scholarship – Returning Student - $1,000
John Miller, Germantown

Washington County Campus Foundation (WCCF) - Returning Student – 3 awards of $2,000 each &
New Freshman – 4 awards of $1,000 each
Devin Baun, West Bend; Erika Buchel, Kewaskum; Megan Jenz, West Bend; Casey Krakowski, Campbellsport;
Jacob Moser, West Bend; Colin Wanie, Jackson; Frances Weiss, Menomonee Falls

West Bend Mutual Insurance Company - Returning Student – 2 awards of $1,000 each and
New Freshman – 2 awards of $1,000 each
Nate Gruenke, West Bend; Aaron Sopinski, Kewaskum; Wyatt Wergin, West Bend; Andrea Wiedmeyer, Theresa

West Bend Noon Rotary - Returning Student - $2,000 & New Freshman - $1,500
Alexander Hafemann, Slinger; Collin Kannenberg, Cedarburg

 Westbury Bank - New Freshman - $250
Christine Gugg, West Bend

Amber Wilde Scholarship. - Returning Student - $1,000
Abraham Dickenson, Hartford

Matt Zillig Global Citizenship Scholarship – Sponsored by Berlon Industries – Returning Student - $1,000
Katelyn Leithold, West Bend

Yogi Memorial – Returning Student - $500
Ben Johnson, Cedarburg

Over 950 students from a five-county region attend the West Bend campus, which is the fourth largest of the 13 two-year campuses that make up the University of Wisconsin colleges. In addition to strong local scholarship support, the campus also offers internship programs within the community, allowing students to earn valuable work experience while completing their studies.


Sue Bausch