UW-WC Plans May 19th Commencement Ceremony

14 Bachelor & 160 Associate Degrees to be Awarded

The University of Wisconsin-Washington County will recognize the accomplishments of 174 students at the annual commencement ceremony on Thursday evening, May 19.

The keynote speaker will be Steve Wildeck, Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance, UW Colleges and UW-Extension. Wildeck received his Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture from UW-Madison in 1985 and his Master of Business Administration degree from UW-Madison in 1989. After working several years for Andersen Consulting’s Chicago practice, he joined the University of Wisconsin Colleges in 1993 as Assistant Dean for Administrative Services at UW-Rock County in Janesville.  He was named UW Colleges Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance in 2000, and in 2007 was appointed to serve in that same role for both UW Colleges and UW-Extension.  Together, these two state-wide institutions serve over 14,000 students on UW Colleges campuses and reach over 1.5 million Wisconsin citizens annually through Wisconsin Public Radio and Wisconsin Public Television, continuing education, and county-based cooperative extension programs.  Wildeck and his wife live in Fitchburg and have two children.  The student speaker is Daniel Schladweiler of Campbellsport, President of Phi Theta Kappa.  A graduate of Kewaskum High School, Schladweiler plans to complete his degree in Philosophy at UW-Madison.

Students who have recently completed or will be completing their degree requirements this summer, will be recognized at the ceremony. Fourteen students will receive a four-year bachelor degree and 161 students will receive their two-year associate degrees for the 2010-2011 academic year.

The collaborative bachelor degree program allows students to complete a 4-year degree from UW-Milwaukee and UW-Oshkosh, while attending classes in West Bend. Students earning a bachelor degree from UW-Milwaukee include:

Cedarburg: Abigail Hartwig, Nursing

Colgate: Rachel Adams, Nursing

Hartford: Nicole Paul, Nursing

Hubertus: Karianne Sweller, Nursing

Jackson: Kim Mutz, Nursing

Kewaskum: Kelly Martin, Nursing

Menomonee Falls: Kristen Stehli, Nursing

Sheboygan: April Weber,  Nursing

Waukesha: Samantha Obluck, Nursing

Wauwatosa: Kay Vespalec, Nursing

West Bend: Sarah Ellenbecker, Nursing; Amy Gilles, Communications

Students earning a bachelor degree from UW-Oshkosh in Liberal Studies with Leadership Emphasis include:

West Bend: Aaron Fechter, Teri Simko

To earn an Associate degree, students must earn at least 60 college credits in five different areas and maintain a 2.0 grade point average (on a scale of 4.0). Associate degrees will be presented to the following students for the 2010/ 2011 school year:                         

Adell: David Wallner

Allenton: Brittany McWilliams, Jeffrey Michalowski

Beaver Dam: Matthew Christian, Azucena Ontiveros

Brownsville: Scot Wiesner

Campbellsport: Daniel Schladweiler

Cedarburg: Kyle Gall, Joseph Hintz,Kelsey Hopfensperger, Benjamin Miller

Colgate: Jessica Geiger

East Troy: Jacob Waedekin

Fredonia: Geoffrey Baumann, Bryan Borchardt, Mike Johnson, Dylon Ternes

Germantown: Dustin Atkielski,Amy Benz, Jessica Curry, Madeleine Eastman, H. Steven Holland, Brock Masching, Danielle Schubert

Grafton: Malinda Andrews, Dana Miller, Kia Reinders, Annette Wahnschaffe, Danielle Ward

Greendale: Chad Rentmeester

Hartford: Andrea Becker, Maria Broeske, Nathan Broker, Ian Doubleday, Amy Gallant, Kathryn Holm, Nathan Luecht, Amanda Polzin, James Porter, Ryan Radschlag, Kelsey Rzepka, Aimee Therrian, Lisa Wegner, Jamie Wolf, Michelle Zignego

Hubertus: Tammie Noggle-Parikka

Iron Ridge: Brent Kriewald, Kristina Twigg

Jackson: Amanda Bublitz, Caleb Bublitz, Nicholas Buss, Paula Doehrmann, Destiny Fleischmann, Eric Harry, Samantha Koenig, Julie Lange, Rebecca Rinke, Kent Rose, Sarah Rudolph

Juneau: Samantha Starr

Kewaskum: Kelcey Alexander, Briana Bastian,Kelsey Guth, Daniel Justman, Cody Kerr, Nicole Meyer, Megan Ogi, Brandi Wagner

Mayville: Cody Eastman, Andrew Hanke, Matthew Pea, Teri Surita

Milwaukee: Paul LaBelle

Morrisville: Jordan Ciesielczyk-Gibson

Neosho: Christopher Kiepert

Newburg: Joshua Jenz

Port Washington: Matt Jozwowski, Leah Perez

Richfield: Kayla Madsen

Rubicon: Laura Adee, Becky Carter, Kayla Klink, Derek Weninger, Dustin Weninger

Saukville: Phillip Krueger, Stephen O’Neil

Slinger: Leah Diedrich, Nicole Prigan, Matthew Wallner

Sussex: Victoria Perlberg

Theresa: Jason Beilke, Kimberly Petermann

Waldo: Elizabeth Stroik          

West Bend: Melyssa Arndt, April Bautista, Jonathan Becker, Karen Becker, Jordan Benike, Chelsea Bingen, Stephanie Bintz, Jeffrey Bischoff, Jodine Brandt, Joshua Brath, Melissa Breuer, Rebecca Brown, Christopher Buss, Chelsie Chmielewski, Amy Ciriacks, Jacob Cull, Sara Dauster, Jonathan Doak, Bruce Doll, Bryan Droese, Robert Ebert, Jessica Falconer, Brittany Filo, John Foshag, Steven Fuerbringer, Trevor Fredin, David Gasperetti, Tyler Geidel, Michal Gerard, Erich Gerhardt, Sara Gronemeyer, Skyler Hansen, Andrew Helman, Shawn Hoffman, Cody Jacquin, Ryan Justman, Brad Katzer, April Kintopp, Beverly Krewald, Tyler Krueger, Robert Kubowski, Elizabeth Kuss, Michael Kutz, Anthony Lambo, Jacob Lawrence, Joshua McCann, Daniel McCulloch, John McIntyre, Zachary Mellgren, Rebecca Mertes, Griffin Mitchell, Kayla Morrison, Brandon Murray, Samantha Olson, Kari Polenske, Megan Ponath, Becky Roden, Joshua Schimmels, Amanda Schloemer, Benjamin Slane, Travis Suchon, Cody Thompson, Adam Treesh, Nathan Valdes, Jonathan Wetzel, Alyssa Wilke, Nathaniel Yttri               

Scholarships totaling over $66,000 as well as departmental awards will also be awarded at the ceremony, which begins with a bagpiper led processional at 7pm in the gymnasium. The Moraine Symphonic Band will perform prior to the ceremony, beginning at 6:30pm. No tickets are needed to attend.

For more information about UW-Washington County, contact the Student Affairs office at 262-335-5201. UW-Washington County has a current enrollment of over 1,100 students and is located at 400 University Drive in West Bend.     


Sue Bausch