Fall Convocation Ceremony on Tuesday, September 16

The University of Wisconsin-Washington County (UW-WC) will present over $57,000 in scholarships at the fall Honors Convocation ceremony on Tuesday, September 16, 2008.  Eighteen new freshman and 25 returning UW-WC students will receive scholarships for the 2008-09 school year. The ceremony begins at 7pm in the theatre. An additional $70,000 in scholarships was awarded at the May Commencement to sophomore students who were transferring to four-year campuses to complete their bachelor degrees.

Dean David Nixon will welcome scholarship presenters and recipients, as well as the faculty, families and friends in attendance. Dr. Sandi Brunette-Hill (Sociology), winner of the 2008 Rolfs Teaching award along with Dr. Peter Gibeau (Music), winner of the 2007 Rolfs Teaching award, will co-present the keynote address. Martha Nelson, Assistant Dean of Student Services, will introduce the scholarship presenters, which include representatives from area businesses, civic groups, foundations and memorial bequeaths. A reception for scholarship presenters and recipients will be held in the cafeteria prior to the ceremony.

Scholarships awards include:

Broan Nu-Tone - New Freshman –2 awards of $1,500 each

Stephanie Weinfurter, Hartford;  Derek Weninger, Rubicon

Mr. & Mrs. James R. Brown – New Freshman - $750

Natasha Merkes, Mayville

Joseph & Rose Butschlick Memorial – New Freshman - $500

Megan Rinzel, Allenton

Kirk D. Currie Memorial Journalism – Returning Student - $100

Jeffrey Dhein-Schuldt, Hartford

Farmington – Returning Student - $1,000

Nicole Langenfeld, West Bend

Hoberg - Returning Student - $1,500

Nicholas Scholl, Germantown

Elmore & Alyce Kraemer – Returning Student - 3 awards of $1,400 each & 1 award of $900

Emily Boden, Kewaskum; Andrew Bruni, West Bend; Ryan Shelvik, Grafton

Tammie Noggle-Parikka, Hubertus 

Elmore & Alyce Kraemer - New Freshman – 2 Awards of $850 each

Ian Jessup, West Bend; Stephanie Rinzel, Allenton

Matthew J. Martin Memorial - Returning Student - $1,000

Noelene Paulsberg, Lomira

Glenn P. Miller Memorial – Returning Student - $500

Abigail Hartwig, Cedarburg

Musical Masquers - Returning Student - $1,000

Christopher Jenkins, West Bend

New Beginnings Scholarship – New Freshman - $500

Carrie Norrid, West Bend

Non Trads on Campus - Returning Student - $300

Lindsey Church, West Bend

Phi Theta Kappa - Returning Student - $500

Rose Steiner, Theresa

RCC – Returning Student - $500

Benjamin Moran, Hartford

Rolfs Educational Foundation - Returning Student - 2 Awards of $2,000 each

Ryan Haire, West Bend; Elizabeth Uecker, Slinger

Wallace & Marion Scheunemann - Returning Student -$2,000

Clayton Wollner, West Bend

Reuben Schmahl - New Freshman - 2 Awards of $400 each

Amanda Beck, West Bend; Andrew Killeen, Slinger

Patrick J. Thomas Memorial - Returning Student - $500

Jennifer Falter, West Bend

Washington County Campus Foundation - Returning Student – 3 Awards of $2,500 each

Shara Krans, West Bend; Rose Steiner, Theresa; Melissa Toeller, Saukville

Washington County Campus Foundation - New Freshman – 3 Awards of $1,000 each
Marissa Goelden, Germantown; Kayci Lorenz, Allenton; April Starr, West Bend

West Bend Mutual Insurance Company - Returning Student – 2 Awards of $1,000 each

Andrew Bruni, West Bend; Joseph Van Beek, Campbellsport

West Bend Mutual Insurance Company – New Freshman – 2 Awards of $1,000 each

Tyler Apel, West Bend; Alyssa Carle, West Bend

West Bend Noon Rotary - Returning Student - $2,500

Andrew Bossler, West Bend

West Bend Noon Rotary Club - New Freshman - $1,500

Alissa Straub, West Bend

West Bend Savings Bank - New Freshman - $600

Daniel Justman, Kewaskum

Ziegler, Inc.- Returning Student - 2 Awards of full tuition

Jacob Cochran, West Bend; Jillian Schmitt, Allenton

Ziegler, Inc.- New Freshman – 2 Awards of ½ tuition

Justin Christianson, Cedarburg; Michael Kelley, West Bend 

Approximately 1,000 students from a five-county region attend the West Bend campus, which is the fourth largest of the 13 two-year campuses that make up the University of Wisconsin colleges. In addition to strong local scholarship support, the campus also offers internship programs within the community, allowing students to earn valuable work experience while attending classes. 


Sue Bausch