UW-WC Announces Student Art Contest Winners

Artwork on Display at Upcoming Winter Arts Festival

The University of Wisconsin-Washington County (UW-WC) is pleased to announce the names of the middle and high school students who took top awards in the 2012 student art contest.  Twenty-five schools entered artwork for the contest, with a total of 179 middle school entries and 134 high school entries. All of the artwork will be on display at the Winter Arts Festival which takes place on Saturday, January 28 from 10am to 4pm at the campus located at 400 University Drive in West Bend.  Admission is free.

Four categories of artwork were included in the judging, including: 3-D; Mixed Media (2 or more media); Black and White, and Single Media. Judging was completed by UW-WC Assistant Art Professor, Joshua Lesniak; Graeme Reid, Assistant Director of Wisconsin Museum of Art and Vicki Ebben (former middle school art teacher). Emphasis was placed on composition, originality, creativity, and use of space and color. 

Top winners at the high school level (by category) include:


First: Brianna Moser, Random Lake High School; Second: Cori Hoss, Kewaskum High School; Third: Kyle Sippel, Campbellsport High School, Honorable Mention: Ashley Duchow, Kewaskum High School; Judges Notice: Maddy Moltzan, Cedarburg High School; Amber Resop, Kewaskum High School

Mixed Media

First: Melissa Johnson, West Bend High School; Second: Grace Goeks, Cedarburg High School; Third: Cody Klemp, Lomira High School; Honorable Mention: Austin Haise, Lomira High School; Judges Notice: Anna Ziemann, Living Word Lutheran High School

Black & White

First: Zachary Baeb, Lomira High School; Second: Lindsey Guerin, Cedarburg High School; Third: Emma Ponath, West Bend High School; Honorable Mention: Molly Miller, West Bend High School

Single Media

First: Lauren Smith, Kewaskum High School; Second: Katie Hultmann, Slinger High School; Third: Lea Ratzmann, Kettle Moraine Lutheran High School; Honorable Mention: Kelly Cassel, Grafton High School; : Brittany Seefeldt, Campbellsport High School;  Judges Notice; Kathryn Hafemann, Grafton High School; Amanda Burg, Slinger High School

Top winners at the middle school level (by category) include:


First: Nasiba Tamalova, Central Middle School, Hartford; Second: Olivia Nickulis, St. Boniface School, Germantown; Third: Riley Dorsey, St. Boniface School, Germantown; Honorable Mention: Emily Hedinger, St. Boniface School, Germantown; Judges Notice: Julia Tennies, Holy Angels; Amanda Schaller, Holy Trinity School, Kewaskum

Mixed Media

First: Angela Rehfeldt, Webster Transitional School, Cedarburg; Second: Hunter Zaskowski, Badger Middle School, West Bend; Third: Macy Ragsdale, Slinger Middle School; Honorable Mention: Benjamin Buske, Lomira Middle School; Ben Moeller, Slinger Middle School; Judges Notice: Megan Hornung, Badger Middle School, West Bend; Samantha Grady, Webster Transitional School, Cedarburg.

Black & White

First:Joe Klosowski, Peace Lutheran School,  Hartford; Second: Lauren Poeschl, Slinger Middle School; Third: Cera Propper, Holy Angels School, West Bend; Honorable Mention: Sydney Rosenthal, Holy Trinity School, Kewaskum; Katie Haasch, Webster Transitional School, Cedarburg; Sarah Mai, Lumen Christi School, Mequon; Judges Notice: Sharla Boehlke, St. Lucas School, Kewaskum; Morgan Lentz, Peace Lutheran School, Hartford

Single Media

First: Abigail Weyde, First Immanuel School, Cedarburg; Second: Kayley Lane, Central Middle School, Hartford; Third: Ellen Hodney, Campbellsport Middle School; Honorable Mention: Colin  Hautala, Erin Public School, Hartford; Kristopher Bender, Erin Public School, Hartford; Judges Notice: Aaron Vandermus, St. Lucas School, Kewaskum.

The judges also awarded “Best in Show” to Joe Klosowski, an eighth grade student at Peace Lutheran School in Hartford for his black and white drawing.

Participating high schools and art teachers include:

Campbellsport High School (Art teacher: L. Boehlke)

Cedarburg High School  (Art teacher: D. Mortl)

Grafton High School (Art teachers: M. Gorra-Patek, M. Driscoll)
Kettle Moraine Lutheran High School, Jackson (Art teacher: K. Schaffer)

Kewaskum High School (Art Teachers: R. Hassler, S. Seibel)

Living Word Lutheran High School, Jackson (Art teacher: A. Groth)

Lomira High School  (Art teacher: J. Moyer)

Random Lake High School (Art Teacher: S. Hisey)

Slinger High School (Art teacher: C. Graziano)

West Bend East & West High Schools (Art Teachers: D. Prahl, J. Krueger)

Participating middle schools and art teachers include:

Badger Middle, West Bend (Art teacher: S. Ozurumba)

Campbellsport Junior School (Art teacher: E. Nelson)

Erin School, Hartford (Art teacher: L. Schuler)

First Immanuel, Cedarburg (Art teacher: B. Rank)
Hartford Central Middle  (Art teacher: P. Brandt)

Holy Angels, West Bend (Art teacher: C. Hofschulte)

Holy Trinity, Kewaskum  (Art teacher: C. Hofschulte)

Lomira Middle (Art teacher: J. Moyer)

Lumen Christi, Mequon (Art teacher: A. Groth)

Peace Lutheran, Hartford (Art teacher: D. Spriggs)

St. Boniface, Germantown  (Art teacher: Sr. E. Hirlemann)

St. Lucas, Kewaskum (Art teacher: L. Boehlke)

Slinger Middle (Art teacher: G. Hefti)

Webster Transitional, Cedarburg (Art teacher: C. Owens)

In addition to the student artwork, the Festival will feature the entries from their recent photography contest – with the top entries on display in the Art gallery; a large arts and crafts sale with over 60 professional artists; music performances (on two stages) and a winter farmer’s market. Admission and parking are free.  UW-WashingtonCounty is located at 400 University Drive (just off Hwy 33 West) in West Bend. In the event of inclement weather, the Festival will take place on Sunday, January 29. For more information about the Festival, visit the campus website at http://washington.uwc.edu or contact University Relations at (262)-335-5208.


Sue Bausch