UW-WC announces Fall Convocation Ceremony

Over $46,000 in scholarships to be awarded

The University of Wisconsin-Washington County (UW-WC) will present over $46,000 in scholarships at the fall Honors Convocation ceremony on Thursday, September 16, 2010. The ceremony begins at 7pm in the theatre. Twenty-one new freshman and 24 returning UW-WC students will receive scholarships for the 2010-11 school year. An additional $59,000 in scholarships was awarded at the May Commencement to sophomore students who were transferring to four-year campuses to complete their bachelor degrees.

Interim Dean, Paul Price will welcome scholarship presenters and recipients, as well as the faculty, families and friends in attendance. UW-WC Art Professor Josh Lesniak, winner of the 2010 Rolfs Teaching award will present the keynote address. Martha Nelson, Assistant Dean of Student Services, will introduce the scholarship presenters, which include representatives from area businesses, civic groups, foundations and memorial bequeaths. A reception for scholarship presenters and recipients will be held in the cafeteria prior to the ceremony.

Scholarships awards include:

Thomas Berenz – New Freshman – 2 awards of $500 each

Cassandra Johnston, Hartford; Justine Keller, Hartford

Broan Nu-Tone - New Freshman –2 awards, $1500 and $1000 

Cassandra Johnston, Hartford; & TBA

Mr. & Mrs. James R. Brown – Returning Student - $1,000

Joshua McCann, West Bend

Mr. & Mrs. James R. Brown - New Freshman - $750

Christina Marolla, West Bend

Joseph & Rose Butschlick Memorial – New Freshman - $500

Sadie Hennig, Kewaskum

Kirk D. Currie Memorial  – Returning Student - $100

Elizabeth Stroik, Waldo

Farmington – Returning Student - $1,000

Chelsie Chmielewski, West Bend

Hoberg - Returning Student - $1,500

Nathan Valdes, West Bend

Elmore & Alyce Kraemer – Returning Student - 3 awards of $750 each

Gina Johnson, Jackson; Jason Martinez, Hartford; Matthew Pea, Mayville

Elmore & Alyce Kraemer - New Freshman – 4 Awards of $500 each

Charlotte Nuedling, Saukville; Samantha Stageman, Fredonia; Anna Steil, Mayville; Kristina Wentz, West Bend

Matthew J. Martin Memorial - Returning Student - $1,000

Megan Ponath, West Bend

Musical Masquers – Returning Student - $1,000

David Gasperetti, West Bend

New Beginnings Scholarship – Returning Student - $500

Michelle Kotke, Hubertus

Non Trads on Campus - Returning Student - $300

Benjamin Kingsbury, Kewaskum

Phi Theta Kappa - Returning Student - $250

Rebecca Brown, West Bend

Rolfs Educational Foundation - Returning Student - 2 Awards of $2,000 each

Lindsey Church, Jackson; Michael Stecker, Cedarburg

Wallace & Marion Scheunemann - Returning Student - $2,000

Jacob Lawrence, West Bend

Reuben Schmahl - New Freshman - 2 Awards of $400 each; 

Danielle Christl, West Bend; Anna Larson, Kewaskum

Wayland and Darlene Tessar - Returning Student - $500

Daniel Schladweiler, Campbellsport

The Thomas Family Scholarship - Returning Student - $500

Nolan Schwab, Jackson

Washington County Campus Foundation - Returning Student – 3 Awards of $1,500 each

David Gasperetti, West Bend; Peter Nennig, West Bend; Thomas Knight, Slinger

Washington County Campus Foundation - New Freshman – 3 Awards of $750 each

Katelyn Dei, Kewaskum; Caleb Olla, Kewaskum; Heather Schmitt, Allenton

West Bend Education Association – Returning Student - $500

Lisa Bowie, West Bend

West Bend Mutual Insurance Company - Returning Student – 3 Awards of $1,000 each

Nicole Meyer, Kewaskum; Ryan Radschlag, Hartford; Nathan Valdes, West Bend

West Bend Mutual Insurance Company – New Freshman – 1 Award of $1,000

Andrew Rinzel, Allenton;

West Bend Noon Rotary - Returning Student - $2,000

Jacob Lawrence, West Bend

West Bend Noon Rotary  - New Freshman - $1,500

Micayla Rathke, West Bend

Westbury Bank - New Freshman - $600

Brendon Reichard, Kewaskum

Ziegler, Inc. - Returning Student - 2 Awards of $2,300 (half- tuition)

Sadie Hennig, Kewaskum; Brooke Waala, Kewaskum

Over 1,000 students from a five-county region attend the West Bend campus, which is the fourth largest of the 13 two-year campuses that make up the University of Wisconsin colleges. In addition to strong local scholarship support, the campus also offers internship programs within the community, allowing students to earn valuable work experience while attending classes. 


Sue Bausch