UW-WC announces Fall Convocation Ceremony

Over $52,000 in Scholarships to be Awarded

The University of Wisconsin-Washington County (UW-WC) will present over $52,000 in scholarships at the fall Honors Convocation ceremony on Thursday, September 15, 2011. The ceremony begins at 7pm in the theatre. Twenty new freshman and 30 returning UW-WC students will receive scholarships for the 2011-12 school year. An additional $66,000 in scholarships was awarded at the May Commencement to sophomore students who were transferring to four-year campuses to complete their bachelor degrees.

UW-WC Dean, Dr. Paul Price will welcome scholarship presenters and recipients as well as the faculty, families and friends in attendance. UW-WC Art Professor Toye Ekunsanmi, winner of the 2011 Rolfs Teaching award will present the keynote address. Sally Cayan, Assistant Dean of Student Affairs, will introduce the scholarship presenters, which include representatives from area businesses, civic groups, foundations and memorial bequeaths. A reception for scholarship presenters and recipients will be held in the cafeteria prior to the ceremony.

Scholarships Awards

American Assn. of University Women (AAUW) – Returning Student - $1,000

Lauren Winklbauer, West Bend 

Peter Ayer Memorial Scholarship – Returning Student - $250

David Pecsi, West Bend

Thomas Bast – Returning Student - $500

James Ozminkowski, West Bend

Thomas Berenz – New Freshman – $500

Jacob Mueller, Hubertus

Broan Nu-Tone - New Freshman –3 awards of $1,500 each

Jacob Gehring, Hartford; Amanda Kirnberger, Hartford; Ashley Langenecker, Hartford

Mr. & Mrs. James R. Brown – Returning Student - $1,000

David Pecsi, West Bend

Joseph & Rose Butschlick Memorial – New Freshman - $500

Emily Bergeron, Kewaskum

Farmington – Returning Student - $1,000

Sadie Hennig, Kewaskum

Glacier Hills Credit Union – Returning Student - $500

Micayla Rathke, West Bend

Hoberg - Returning Student - $1,500

Theodore Tracy, Menomonee Falls

HOPE – Returning Student – 6 awards of $500 each

Laura Harley, Menomonee Falls; Kelsey Jashinsky, West Bend; Richard Keller, West Bend; Anna Klotz, Grafton; Jessica Laak, Jackson; Amy Zingsheim, Slinger

Elmore & Alyce Kraemer – Returning Student - 3 awards of $750 each

Kelly Braeutigam, Horicon; Heather Grosskoph, West Bend; Elise Peters, West Bend

Elmore & Alyce Kraemer - New Freshman – 4 Awards of $500 each

Megan Clarke, West Bend; Mary Crowley, Milwaukee; Ashley Ritger, West Bend; Nathan Schultz, Jackson

Matthew J. Martin Memorial - Returning Student - $1,000

Emily Repinski, Cedarburg

Musical Masquers – Returning Student - $1,000
Aaron Hetzel, West Bend

New Beginnings Scholarship – Returning Student - $500

Lauren Winklbauer, West Bend

Non Trads on Campus - Returning Student - $300

Philip Vincevineus, Grafton

Phi Theta Kappa - Returning Student - $300

Arsalon Amini-Hajibashi, West Bend

L.N. Peterson Memorial Scholarship – New Freshman - $500

Cole Roberts, Kewaskum

Rolfs Educational Foundation - Returning Student - 2 Awards of $2,000 each

James Henry, West Bend; Anna Steil, Mayville

Wallace & Marion Scheunemann - Returning Student - $2,000

Arsalon Amini-Hajibashi, West Bend

Reuben Schmahl - New Freshman - 2 Awards of $400 each;
Sarah Falter, West Bend; Mallory Mercier, Hartford

Wayland and Darlene Tessar - Returning Student - $1,000

Theresa Ratzel, Kewaskum

The Thomas Family Scholarship - Returning Student - $500

Stacy Chesak, West Bend

Washington County Campus Foundation - Returning Student – 3 Awards of $1,500 each

Peter Nennig, West Bend; Jared Schneider, Kewaskum; Samantha Stageman, Fredonia

Washington County Campus Foundation - New Freshman – 4 Awards of $750 each

Emily Brinkman, Germantown; Olivia Gitter, Kewaskum; Tyler Kutz, West Bend; Cameron Lang, West Bend

West Bend Education Association – Returning Student - $500

James Ozminkowski, West Bend

West Bend Mutual Insurance Company - Returning Student – 2 Awards of $1,000 each

Nathan Mislang, Germantown; Elizabeth Schreier, Kewaskum

West Bend Mutual Insurance Company – New Freshman – 2 Awards of $1,000 each

Ryan Glander, Port Washington; Michael Van Dusen, Necedah

West Bend Noon Rotary - Returning Student - $2,000

Alexandra Marks, West Bend

West Bend Noon Rotary  - New Freshman - $1,500

Amanda Schussman, West Bend

Westbury Bank - New Freshman - $250

Mitchel Ossana, Slinger

Ziegler, Inc. - Returning Student - 2 Awards of full tuition

Sadie Hennig, Kewaskum; Brooke Waala, Kewaskum

Over 1,000 students from a five-county region attend the West Bend campus, which is the fourth largest of the 13 two-year campuses that make up the University of Wisconsin colleges. In addition to strong local scholarship support, the campus also offers internship programs within the community, allowing students to earn valuable work experience while attending classes. 


Sue Bausch