Top Student Athletes Recognized at UW-WC


Efforts of UW-Washington County athletes were honored at the annual Awards Ceremony. Debbie Butschlick, Athletic Director, announced the following honors for the 2010/11 season:


Daniel McCulloch, Slinger – Two Year Commitment Award, WCC First Team All Conference,

Defensive Player of the Year

Samantha Starr, Juneau – Two Year Commitment Award

John Foshag, West Bend – Two Year Commitment Award & WCC Honorable Mention Team

Kyle Wagner, Hartford – Two Year Commitment Award & WCC First Team All Conference


Ben Popies,  Rubicon – WCC Second Team All-Conference, Leadership Award, MVP

Codey Doehrmann, Jackson – Captain’s Choice Award, MIP

Elias Hovorka, West Bend – Gentleman’s Award


Brandi Wagner, Kewaskum – WCC First Team All Conference, Player of the Year, WCC All Tournament Team, MVP, Captain Award

Stacy Chesak, West Bend – WCC First Team All Conference, Setter of the Year, MVP

Elise Peters, West Bend - WCC Honorable Mention

Monica Dehler, Kewaskum – WCC Honorable Mention

Kayla Madsen, Richfield – Coach’s Award

Katelyn Loduha, West Bend – Coach’s Award

Men’s Basketball

Jake Cull, West Bend – WCC Second Team All Conference, MVP Offense, Team MVP

Peter Nennig, West Bend – WCC Honorable Mention, Captain’s Award

Elias Hovorka, West Bend – WCC Honorable Mention, Captain’s Award, MVP Defense

Mike Backhaus, West Bend – Captain’s Award, Coach’s Award 

Matt Christian, Beaver Dam – Captain’s Award

Josh DeSmidt, West Bend – MIP

Matt McCann, Germantown – Hustle Award

Women’s Basketball

Abigail Hovorka, West Bend – WCC Honorable Mention, Defensive Player, MVP

Anna Steil, Mayville – MVP, Coach’s Award

Jenny Ritterbusch, Mayville – Captain’s Award

Cameron Ottoson, Slinger – Impact Player Award

Melissa Buetow, Cedarburg – MIP

Men’s Tennis

Andrew Wahl, West Bend – Coach’s Award

Matthew Pfiefer, Germantown – MVP

Jared Schleef, Jackson – MIP

Women’s Tennis

Stacy Chesak, West Bend – Coach’s Award

Elizabeth Sufferin, West Bend – MVP

Rebecca Brown, West Bend – MIP

UW-Washington County is a member of the Wisconsin Collegiate Conference (WCC). Student athletes have an opportunity to participate and travel with the Wildcat team throughout the state to compete with other UW teams. 


Sue Bausch