Butschlick & Peterson named WCC Coaches of the Year

By UW-Washington County

UW-Washington County coaches, Debbie Butschlick and Roger Peterson were named WCC Tennis Coaches of the Year.  Both the men’s and women’s teams won the WCC state championship this year. Peterson, who is a Professor of Mathematics for the campus, became the first Women’s Tennis Coach in 1983. With a small hiatus from 1990-92, he has served as their coach ever since. Through the years, the Women’s team won the WCC championship in 1991, 2008 and 2011 and WCC State runner-up in 2010, 2012, 2015 and 2017. This is the third time that Peterson has received the Coach of the Year honor.

Debbie Butschlick, who serves as Athletic Director for the campus, became the Men’s and Women’s tennis coach in 1990. Since 1992, she and Peterson have team coached.  Through the years, the Men’s team was the WCC runner-up in 2007, 2008, and 2009 and WCC State runner up in 2012. This is the fifth time that Butschlick has been named WCC Coach of the Year for tennis.

UW-WC is a member of the Wisconsin Collegiate Conference (WCC), with athletic teams in soccer, golf, basketball, volleyball and tennis. Athletes travel throughout the state of Wisconsin to compete with other UW colleges as well as non-conference college teams. 


Sue Bausch, Regional Director of Communications